Public Safety Personnel

The Department of Public Safety is comprised of dedicated officers, employees, and volunteers who are well prepared for the challenges of policing an urban campus. All officers are sworn law enforcement officers, certified by the South Carolina Criminal Justice Academy as South Carolina state constables, and as such have full power of arrest. In addition, they receive all state-mandated training in order to remain certified by the South Carolina Criminal Justice Academy.

Here is a link to our departmental organizational chart.

The Department of Public Safety is organized into four units:


Support Services

All criminal offenses and suspicious incidents occurring on the College of Charleston campus are sent to our Investigations Unit. Investigators within this unit identify, collect and preserve physical evidence, prepare warrants, work in concert with other law enforcement agencies, prepare for and attend grand jury presentations, apprehend/arrest perpetrators and maintain ongoing case files until  disposition has occurred. The Operations Support Services Commander serves as Unit Supervisor.

For more information, contact Chief Chip Searson or call 843.953.2468.


Fire and EMS